446

DOMINION MINISTRIES 1867-1911.

Office.	Name.	Date of appointment.	
Fifth Ministry.1			
Premier	Right Hon. Sir J. S. D. Thompson	Dec. 5,	1892
Minister of Justice and Attorney General	Hon. Sir J. S. D. Thompson	Sept. 25,	1885
Minister of Trade and Commerce	Hon. Mackenzie Bowell	Dec. 5,	1892
Postmaster General	Hon. Sir A. P. Caron	Jan. 25,	1892
Secretary of State	Hon. John Costigan	Dec. 5	1892
Minister of Finance	Hon. George Eulas Foster	May 29,	1888
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. Sir Charles Hibbert Tupper	May 31,	1888
Minister of Railways and Canals	Hon. John G. Haggart	Jan. 11,	1892
Minister of Public Works	Hon. J. A. Ouimet	Jan. 17,	1892
Minister of Militia Minister of Interior and Super- intendent General of Indian			1892
	Hon. Thomas M. Daly	Oct. 17,	1892
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. A. R. Angers	Dec. 5,	1892
President of Council	Hon. William B. Ives	Dec. 5,	1892
Without portfolio Not in the Cabinet.	Hon. Sir John Carling	Dec. 5, July 29,	$1892 \\ 1882$
Solicitor General	Hon. John J. Curran	Dec 5	1892
Controller of Inland Revenue		1	1892
Controller of Customs	Hon. N. Clarke Wallace	L	1892
Sixth Ministry.2		,	
Premier and President of			
Council	Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell	Dec. 21,	1894
Minister of Justice	Hon. Sir Charles Hibbert Tupper	Dec. 21 Jan. 15,	1894 1896
Minister of Trade and Com- merce	Hon. W. B. Ives	Dec. 21, Jan. 21,	1894 1892

¹Some of the Ministers being continued in their positions, the dates of their original appointments are given. The Premier died on December 12, 1894, and was succeeded by Sir Mackenzie Bowell.

²In January, 1896, several members of the Cabinet resigned, and on the 15th of that month it was re-organized with four new members.